I’ve been studying the “Green” movement for some time now.  I frequent some of the more popular and some of the not so popular blogs that are on the internet.  For the most part, I feel like they are doing a good job a pulling people in by not being so combatant about issues.  I particular like before/after stories, how the author is doing it reports, and the forums that follow.  I also like how they tell of the joy of being “lighter”.

Being a born again Christian, I feel we have a responsibility to protect ourselves, our family, our neighborhood, and our country.  I do not feel we are “one world”.  There are forces out there that we are battling that are trying to wipe us out.  Both culturally and conventionally by war.  I also believe we will be individual countries at the end of time.  Read the book of Revelations.

My main concern is that this movement doesn’t turn into an “us vs them” fight. I’m also concerned that if these ideas (which I like if given the freedom to do what I want) make it into law that it will infringe on my rights.  This is a difficult thing to write because I agree with a lot. I want to do what I want to do even if harmful to myself or the environment.  It’s freedom.  Doesn’t mean I’d do it or that I’m even thinking of doing it, but I should be allowed to reap the consequences of my stupidity.  Anyway, that’s a long winded way of saying I have some concerns about the movement and politics being mingled together.

Lately I’ve been thinking about giving up television.  That’s the main thrust of  my main line of thinking.  I’ve been reading “No Impact Man” and “Kill Your Television” to glean ideas and maybe sketch out a project.  This will probably be the biggest/hardest thing I’ve ever done.  Simply because I am, admittedly, addicted to television.  I don’t remember a time when we didn’t have a television. The first cartoon I can remember watching was “Speed Racer”.  Television?  “Bewitched”  Back in the late 70s and early 80s I learned a lot of useless trivia, wasted time, and escaped from reality. There was some things, I learned.  I could have paid more attention to real people and learned the same things.

Now that I have two beautiful children.  I do not want them to become addicted to television either.  I’ve already on one occasion caught them staring wide-eyed at the television without blinking and nothing going on behind the glazed look.  Did *I* look like that growing up?  I have run up against some of the questions I have read about.  What do we do instead of television?

I should have a plan in place in the next couple of weeks.  If you have any ideas, please comment .  Thanks!

